top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlexandra Sills

Accolades and Anonymous Admirers

Updated: Aug 13, 2023

I’ve been busy. In the last twelve months, I've written seven MA assignments, two conference papers, two 10,000-word articles from said conference papers, two more conference abstracts, three Bad Ancient articles (one is on its way, and a fourth I have really got to get around to,) and five Working Classicist articles/recipes—one to be published soon. Six, if you count the two-parter. When I type this out, it does seem like an insane workload. I still have work to do before the summer ends, as well as finally nailing down a dissertation topic. I talked last week about feeling that my clock is ticking, with the end of my MA approaching like a freight train and the slower, pathetic death of Twitter. I got so despondent about what I haven’t yet managed to achieve before that impending dual apocalypse that I forgot to look back on this year and be satisfied with what I did manage to squeeze in. Toiling under the assumption that I’d be considered a bona fide ancient historian if only I reached a higher level, I hadn’t stopped to consider if I was already accepted yet.


I blame this on the academic structure, because everyone is ‘just’ an amateur until they advance to be ‘just’ an undergraduate, and on and on until/if one finally becomes a professor. Professors are never ‘just’ anything (unless you are a university manager, I suppose). So I find it hard to be satisfied with what I’ve achieved so far—as I suspect many others do too. When those ahead of you designate you as a ‘just,’ it’s too easy to join them in minimising your achievements as ‘just’ minor ones, even though every last one of those achievements once seemed insurmountable.


On the other hand, I’m not following a traditional path, and have to find alternate routes up a mountain whose peak is different for every climber. For some it’s getting into uni, for some it’s learning a language, for some it’s publishing a book, for some it’s tenure. It can sometimes seem like I’ve been furiously working, only to look up and realise I’m nowhere close to my own summit (the point at which I feel I can call myself an accepted historian). I haven’t been in the habit of looking back and appreciating how far I’ve come.


That’s why I’m so grateful to Working Classicists. If you aren’t familiar, I urge you to seek them out. The organisation is dedicated to platform and promote people exactly like myself, those who love antiquity but don’t come from the narrow background of the ‘stereotypical’ Classicist. Let’s face it, it’s easy for us non-conformists to feel alone until such an organisation rallies us all together. You can read here about the types of person they represent.


Earlier this summer, they decided to demonstrate just how many brilliant people are doing brilliant work by asking for nominations for their inaugural awards. As much as I owe Classics Twitter, it can be a stunningly negative space. Elitism, sniping, narcissism, bun fights, etc. Just at the right time, Working Classicists asked us to consider who in our networks was producing great art, providing excellent teaching, the vibrant newcomers and the unsung heroes. Those of us sending in nominations put down the buns for a few weeks to celebrate what's great about the community and have a massive love-in, nominating people for awards that, in Working Classicists’ words, provide some recognition to those of us in/around “a discipline that struggles to reward anyone who isn’t already privileged.” And I was able to nominate so many people, because when you stop to think about it, there are so many people doing awesome things at every level. Nobody needs to be at the peak of their career to be making valuable and impressive contributions, and dozens of people are proving it every day.


It wasn’t until I received an email that made me burst into tears in a bloody Travelodge that I realised I was one of them, and have been selected as the Working Classicist of the Year, 2023. I am too shy to ask who nominated me, but I’ll be forever grateful to whoever it was who did. It has forced me to stop thinking about all the things I haven’t yet done, and take a moment to take some pride in how far I’ve come. It’s bananas how much of a compliment this award is, as I know exactly the calibre of people I was nominating. People who know what they’re doing and aren’t making it up as they go along! And the five winners in their categories are fabulous too, so I'm in rarefied company.



What the nominators said: From her own wonderful blog, to the brilliant idea of her classical cooking column, to her various submissions to Bad Ancient, Alexandra's public classics output is amazing." "While a working mother she took her undergraduate degree as a mature stuent with a rattling first and is currently pursuing postgraduate studies." "Alexandra has already made significant scholarly contributions through conference papers and peer reviewed articles, all of exceedingly high quality!



"Alexandra's commitment to public scholarship and the pursuit of knowledge matches (and surpasses) any given PhD candidate or 'professional' classicist, and we are frequently amazed by her dedication and resolve as an enthusiast. The academic achievements she has made (and will continue to pursue) as a mature student and working mother are an inspiration to many, and her outreach and demystification of the Classics shows that she has the health of the subject in mind. Alexandra is a tireless worker, an important voice, and a true scholar. This award is the highest accolade we can offer, and is given in respect of her abilities and efforts in all areas of Classics. It is an honour to know Alexandra and to have worked with her, and this award goes to show how many people across the discipline share that sentiment. Her courage in speaking her mind, empathy for others, and consistent efforts to expand publicly available knowledge makes her a clear and deserving Working Classicist of the Year.

It has been emotional, after a year of wondering if I and my work will ever be enough (for whom? I’m never sure) to learn that my work is indeed valued and my words on this blog, that I often mentally dismiss as complaining, have resonated with people who also struggle with the pressure to conform, or those who see the need to open the gates. I’ll be forever grateful that someone felt compelled to give me a pat on the back, and that the Working Classicists agreed. I’m hopeful that we can keep this love-in going for as long as possible, so that we can all have a turn feeling proud of our accomplishments. There are so very many people who deserved this as much as I have been told I do, and so many people who need to be reminded that their contributions at every level and in every form are worthwhile and appreciated. Being a classicist/ancient historian comes in far more forms than we’ve previously been led to believe, and you may just be considered as a genuine one earlier than you expect. Sometimes we just need a little validation.


This is why Working Classicists are such a vital organisation, because they recognised this before anyone else did. Much larger organisations that crow about inclusivity have failed to be nearly as welcoming and genuinely inclusive as Working Classicists have, and they are absolutely to be commended for it. Luckily, they’ve made it over to Bluesky, so go find them there if you can. They deserve all the support and recognition they can get, having so generously provided it for so many people. My appallingly low self-esteem and anxiety over my progress/output is a byproduct of academic gatekeeping. We should all be following Working Classicists’ example in reconsidering the metric of success, if we mean what we say about inclusivity and antiquity outside academia.


I'm hopeful that on Bluesky we won't need to be prompted to celebrate work outside of the kind academia traditionally values. We have a chance to start fresh and leave our negative habits and patterns of behaviour behind, and make it a truly lovely place to be. I have no doubt that Working Classicists will be at the forefront of it.




111 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Who Is(n't) Joining AncientBluesky?

This week I made the decision to mothball my main Twitter account, despite everything I owe to it. I may as well, having checked some statistics. I'm shown so few tweets now, unless I go through click

With an Eye to the Future

I've just started my MA dissertation. The time has come to say something original, and to stop merely relaying what others before me have said. Anyone who has studied the ancient Mediterranean at this

A Crash Course in Classics Bluesky

Twitter/X/Twix is now little more than a creaking wreck. You may notice that your engagement is down, you aren't seeing who you want to see, and Nazis with blue checks outnumber even the spammy ads. B

bottom of page