top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlexandra Sills

Dissertation Day

Updated: Jan 25, 2023

Today is the day. The deadline. The culmination of four years of work. I started thinking about and look forward to my dissertation as soon as I was accepted onto my degree course, a full ten months before I started classes. Today has been a long time coming.


I actually submitted a few days ago, because the urge to fidget with the finished product was too strong. It was strangely anticlimactic. After months of eating, sleeping, breathing this project, all I had to do was upload a PDF and click 'submit' from my sofa. It's done, it's gone, there is nothing more I can do. I pored over every single sentence with forensic precision, every one of the ten thousand words weighed for worth. Each page represents hundreds of hours of reading. I try not to think about how only 3 people will ever read it (plus, of course, my mum and my most trusted classmate.) I have a long, anxious wait before I know how well I've done, and honestly I can't predict it at all. The school holidays are over and I have some peace and quiet after Easter, but instead of throwing myself into work I find myself sitting in an empty, silent house, twiddling my thumbs. Technically I have one exam left to go, but the lack of ceremony involved in clicking a button has left me too deflated to want to revise.


So here I am, writing this as an attempt at catharsis. After all, I did intend this blog to document my transition from armchair enthusiast to graduate and beyond. Keeping that in mind, it's easy to forget that not very long ago, writing a dissertation at all was not something I ever thought I'd be able to do. At 18, I didn't have the qualifications to get me a place on a Classics/Studies course as I'd never had the chance to study at GCSE or A Level, even if I'd have believed that ancient history was a viable career prospect. I had never knowingly listened to or read a working class classicist. Luckily for me, several years later I found a university that values enthusiasm over UCAS points. It's easy to forget how radical that really is, and wherever I go from here, I will owe it all to a university willing to take a chance on me because they saw a little potential.


Unconventional acceptance prerequisites aside, I was very conscious that a BA in my 30s was my last shot at levelling my passion for antiquity up. Thankfully, for those willing to put the work in, Birkbeck is as good a place as any to extract as much worth as possible. I hope this is reflected in my dissertation, which I stuffed with the same verve as I do packing a suitcase.


I have Cicero swordfighting, elephant-drawn chariots, Milo of Croton in his Herakles costume, a monkey dressed as a gladiator and the Moirai snipping threads. I studied and catalogued nearly 120 monuments, pored over hundreds of inscriptions, and assorted hundreds of artworks. I have 32 appendices and 308 items in my bibliography, in at least 7 languages. There is no way I could have written a multi-disciplinary piece of such scope, in such detail, without the education I received at Birkbeck. After planning this behemoth for three years, it ended up being more comprehensive than I could have ever imagined, and whatever it happens to score, I am incredibly proud of what I managed to produce.


During this academic year, my entire family got Covid, my Dad had a hospital stay where he nearly died a couple of times, and the stability of my fragile mental health was severely tested. Throughout all of this, despite the extra pressure it provided, my dissertation has been a comfort. I've genuinely enjoyed myself. I've looked forward to every library day where I now have a 'lucky' locker, I've relished every chapter and article read, and done my best Sherlock impression tracking down missing statistics and references. I've punched the air when I stumbled across the perfect chunk of epigraphy or beautiful artefact. Research and writing, to the suprise of no-one who knows me, turns out to be my favourite thing to do.


So here we are, at the end. Whilst I still have to find out whether the three people marking it like it as much as I do, I can at least look at it with pride and affection. I already miss writing it. More importantly, whatever it ends up scoring, I wrote a dissertation - an opportunity I once assumed had passed me by. And now, thankfully, I get to do it all again. Once more for good measure. I have been accepted onto an MA program at Leicester. Perhaps it's not so much of an anticlimax after all.

Now, time to start shopping for new notebooks...

81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Who Is(n't) Joining AncientBluesky?

This week I made the decision to mothball my main Twitter account, despite everything I owe to it. I may as well, having checked some statistics. I'm shown so few tweets now, unless I go through click

With an Eye to the Future

I've just started my MA dissertation. The time has come to say something original, and to stop merely relaying what others before me have said. Anyone who has studied the ancient Mediterranean at this

A Crash Course in Classics Bluesky

Twitter/X/Twix is now little more than a creaking wreck. You may notice that your engagement is down, you aren't seeing who you want to see, and Nazis with blue checks outnumber even the spammy ads. B

bottom of page